Pages

Friday, September 29, 2017

Do you know about Halal food? The Availability of Halal Food in Kochi

   At a grilled meat restaurant a Japanese man is talking with a Muslim woman. The man notices a dubious expression on the woman’s face as he fries pork on the shared grill. “Muslims don’t eat pork, right? I’m frying beef and chicken too so you don’t need to eat it” he says, gesturing to the meat aside from the pork. Do you know why the Muslim lady felt uncomfortable? The lady felt uncomfortable because she was reluctant to eat meat that has been fried on the same grill as pork, which in Islam is considered unclean.
 
Marisa from Indonesia,
Kochi City CIR
Rising Awareness of Halal Food
   In recent years the number of visitors and students from Islamic countries coming to Japan has increased, and with the expansion of exportation to areas with high Muslim populations, awareness of Halal food has grown. In Kochi Prefecture as well there are Muslim students and residents, however we have heard that it is very difficult for them to find Halal food, which they can eat without worry.

   In this issue, KIA staff and the CIRs went to a restaurant offering Halal food in Kochi City, as well as a business that wishes to see the expansion of businesses getting certified in Halal and exporting overseas. This time city hall CIR and practicing Muslim Marisa, was also included in the reporting team. Please have a read through of our up to date information on Halal food in Kochi Prefecture!
 

What is Halal food?
   It is common knowledge that Muslims are forbidden from consuming pork and alcohol; however there is a means of production for other food items as well- for processing and cooking methods- which should conform to Islamic teachings. Food items adhering to this means of production are known as “Halal Food”.

―Examples of non Halal foods―
• Animals that have not been slaughtered in accordance with the methods for meat stated in Islamic teachings
• Alcohol (including soy sauce, rice wine, miso, wine etc…)
• Pork (including sausages, gelatin etc…)
• Using cooking utensils that have been in contact with or used for cooking non halal ingredients.

No comments:

Post a Comment